Te Arawa trials for 2021 Maori Basketball Nationals
Register Here

Te Arawa Poitukohu (Te Arawa Basketball) was formed in 2013 under the auspices of the Rotorua Basketball Association to administer teams for the Maori Basketball National Tournament. The inaugural Maori Basketball National Tournament was held in Rotorua in 2013 and has continued to be held in Rotorua since then. Tenders will open for the Hosting the 2021 tournament.


1. Must of NZ Maori descent and able to provide 'whakapapa' details which can be verified.

2. Living in the "Te Arawa' rohe? - as long as one is of NZ Maori descent regardless of Iwi

3. If living outside of "Te Arawa" rohe - one must whakapapa to Te Arawa

4. Non-Maori with a NZ Maori spouse - may play in the Adult Mixed divisions only

GRADES: Kotiro/Wahine & Tama/Tane

Under 9's;  Under 11's; Under 13's; Under 15's; Under 17's; Under 19's

Open Tane; Open Wahine; Mixed Open; Mixed Social; Pakeke Mixed; Special Olympics Mixed


All registrations to be completed online. These close 30th September 2020.


Te Arawa Player Registration is: $10.00 per player (player registration to be completed online)

Tournament Player Fee: tbc


In August EOI for the Voluntary Positions are sent out to schools, clubs and individual coaches.

EOI form is also updated and can be found below as a Download for interested persons.

Currently these are open and will close 25 September 2020 for the 2021 National Tournament to be held in Rotorua.


Date: 17 October 2020

Venue: Rotorua Energy Events Centre

This tournament is to select the teams to represent Te Arawa at the National Maori Basketball Tournament to be held 25 - 30 January 2021.

This tournament is for the U9s, U11s, U13s, U15s, U17s, U19s.

The pakeke teams will just register online and separate trials will be held - if needed.

Players must register online - these are open now and will close 25 September, 2020.

Once registrations are closed, the schedule for each age group will be published.

Players will assemble with their age group at the given time and will then be put into teams for the day to play a mini-tournament.

The appointed coaches will then identify their players from the tournament to play at the National Tournament for Te Arawa - A maximum of 10 players per team will be selected with 2 reserves.

ADULTS: Tane; Wahine; Mixed; Masters; Special Olympics

Registrations are open to register with one of the teams above.

Once registrations close "30 September, 2020" players will be sent an email with details of team & Tournament Fees.

Any queries, please email tearawapoitukohu@gmail.com or contact Sue Pene 021 2225515